Minutes

EXTRAORDINARY OF THE MEETING OF THE COUNCIL OF THE LONDON BOROUGH OF BARNET held at The Town Hall, Hendon, NW4, on Wednesday, 15 June 2011.

PRESENT:

*The Worshipful the Mayor (Councillor Lisa Rutter)

*The Deputy Mayor (Councillor Barry Evangeli)

Councillors:

*Maureen Braun *Anne Hutton *Kate Salinger Bed (Hons) *Alex Brodkin *Geoffrey Johnson *Gill Sargeant *Joan Scannell *Brian Coleman Julie Johnson *Sury Khatri BSc (Hons), MSc *Anita Campbell *Brian Schama *Pauline Coakley Webb *David Longstaff *Alan Schneiderman *Dean Cohen BSc (Hons) *John Marshall MA *Daniel Seal Jack Cohen *Kath McGuirk *Mark Shooter *Melvin Cohen *Andrew McNeil *Agnes Slocombe SRN, RM *Ansuya Sodha MBA(Middx) *Geof Cooke *Alison Moore *Alison Cornelius *Graham Old Cert Ed, DipM (CIM), AMBA *Stephen Sowerby *Richard Cornelius *Charlie O-Macauley *Andrew Stongolou *Tom Davey Lord Palmer OBE, BA, PCA Claire Farrier Susette Palmer MA *Andreas Tambourides Anthony Finn BSc (Econ), *Bridget Perry *Joanna Tambourides *Wendy Prentice **FCA** *Daniel Thomas BA (Hons) *Brian Gordon LLB *Sachin Rajput BA (Hons) PgD *Ruben Thompstone Jim Tierney *Eva Greenspan *Robert Rams Rowan Turner *Andrew Harper *Darrel Yawitch *Helena Hart **Barry Rawlings** *John Hart BA MA *Colin Rogers Zakia Zubairi Lynne Hillan *Hugh Rayner

*denotes Member present

1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

*Ross Houston

Apologies for absence were received from Councillor Lord Palmer, Councillor Susette Palmer, Councillor Jack Cohen, Councillor Jim Tierney, Councillor Zakia Zubairi, Councillor Claire Farrier, Councillor Barry Rawlings, Councillor Julie Johnson, Councillor Anthony Finn, Councillor Rowan Turner and Councillor Lynne Hillan.

2. **DECLARATIONS OF PERSONAL AND PREJUDICIAL INTERESTS**There were none.

*Brian Salinger

3. TO ELECT THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

Councillor Brian Coleman, seconded by Councillor Mark Shooter, moved that Councillor Richard Cornelius be elected Leader of the Council until the Annual Council Meeting following the Local Election in 2014.

RESOLVED – That Councillor Richard Cornelius be elected Leader of the Council until the Annual Council Meeting following the Local Election in 2014.

4. REPORT OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL – DELEGATION OF EXECUTIVE FUNCTIONS

In accordance with the Constitution, the Leader of the Council presented a written record of the delegations made by him to the Cabinet and Cabinet Committees, and joint arrangements for the discharge of Executive functions.

RESOLVED -

- (1) The Leader appointed the following Members to serve on the Cabinet:
 - Councillor Richard Cornelius
 - Councillor Brian Coleman
 - Councillor Tom Davey
 - Councillor Andrew Harper
 - Councillor Helena Hart
 - Councillor David Longstaff
 - Councillor Robert Rams
 - Councillor Sachin Rajput
 - Councillor Joanna Tambourides
 - Councillor Daniel Thomas
- (2) The Leader appointed Councillor Andrew Harper as Deputy Leader of the Council.

5. CHANGES TO COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP (REPORT OF THE HEAD OF GOVERNANCE)

RESOLVED – The following changes were approved

Audit Committee - Member

Replace Councillor Tom Davey with Councillor Hugh Rayner

Planning and Environment Committee - Substitute

Replace Councillor David Longstaff with a vacancy

Safeguarding Overview and Scrutiny Committee - Member

• Replace Councillor David Longstaff with Councillor Alison Cornelius

Appeals Committee - Member

• Replace Councillor David Longstaff with Councillor Wendy Prentice

Assistant Cabinet Member

 That Council note that Councillor Tom Davey relinquishes his role as the Assistant Cabinet Member for Children's Services.

6. APPOINTMENT OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE COUNCIL TO OUTSIDE BODIES

Councillor Joan Scannell moved the following appointments of representation of the Council to Outside Bodies

RESOLVED – The following changes were approved

ALMO1 (Barnet Homes)

Replace Councillor Helena Hart with Councillor Brian Schama

London Council's 0198 - Leaders' Committee

Replace Cllr Lynne Hillan with Cllr Richard Cornelius

The meeting finished at 6.45pm